Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Sep 15, 2014 in Featured, Music, Reviews |

Balance 025 Mixed by Danny Tenaglia

Balance 025 Mixed by Danny Tenaglia

Continuing the legacy of one of the best mix series in today’s electronic music world, Balance, is the one and only Danny Tenaglia, the New York-based DJ and producer with a career spanning almost 30 years. Known for his marathon sets, Tenaglia has maintained a reputation of excellence from his early days as a key member of the tribal and progressive house scenes, through years of electronic experimentation, to his current focus, techno. It’s no wonder the Australia-based Balance series, which has hosted visionary artists like Nick Warren, Radio Slave, and James Holden chose Tenaglia, and his mix (the first compilation of his in six years) does not disappoint. Adding a subtle yet noticeably personal touch is the fact that he re-edited almost every cut on the 36-track mix in order to fully express his vision of contemporary techno, found around the world in places like Berghain and Output. Both hour-long CDs are true journeys into the heart and soul of his record collection, so strap in, press play, and escape into techno wonderland.

danny tenaglia balance 25Setting the mood of Disc 1 is the melodic, emotional “Tragicaller” by 04LM, which will get your ears standing at attention immediately. A chuggy, tribal feel rules the first five tracks of the mix. Then Ø [Phase]’s “Dirtro II” kicks in and the warehouse vibes really take you over. The steady kick drum continues through MRI’s soon-to-be-classic “Es Geht Um Mehr,” and the darkness lifts a tad with Dosem’s remix of Hot Since 82’s “Planes & Trains.” Things continue to build and bump as we hear from Sanys, Nicole Moudaber, and more, leaving out a high note with a skillful mix of a slowed-down version of Thomas Shumacher’s “I’ll Do You” and Kangding Ray’s remix of Dadub’s “Existence,” both of which have enough bass to shake your insides yet enough melody to get stuck in your head for days. Disc 1 is a listening adventure which perfectly captures the essence of today’s techno and tech house and will be able to be enjoyed for years to come.

Disc 2 is a personification of the resilient sound of the underground, chock full of the type of beats which penetrate club walls until they’re soaked with sweat. Techno from the world over is showcased here, from Spain’s Architectural to UK’s Dax J to US’s 2 AM/FM to Ukraine’s Exploit. This goes to show just how well expressions of various cultures can play together when done correctly. Each track seems to effortlessly blend into one another, from relentless, gritty synth lines to melodic soundscapes and back again. Disc 2 is undoubtedly one of the finest techno mixes we’ve heard all year, with enough variations in sound to stay interesting from start to finish without ever sounding muddy or overloaded. It’s the kind of techno which you lose yourself in, whether at 2 AM or 2 PM. A thought-provoking, fine-tuned listen, we will have this one on repeat for months to come.

“I could’ve never predicted this,” said Tenaglia, “but I do feel that techno is most definitely better than ever. That’s mainly because the tempo has finally gotten below 130 BPM. This made techno more soulful, more swingin’, more bouncy and made you feel it like you never could’ve felt it at near 140 BPM.” This sentiment echoes through this mix, which certainly oozes with soul, emotion, and artistic force. Released in Europe today and in the US tomorrow, Balance 025 will make a delightful addition to record collections across the globe. Order your copy now.


Balance 025: Danny Tenaglia Tracklisting

1. 04LM – Tragicaller
2. Ugo Carrano – GBass
3. Reboot – Banging Ear Drum
4. Talismann – Zula
5. Cowboy Rhythmbox – Shake
6. Ø [Phase] – Dirtro II
7. MRI – Es Geht Um Mehr
8. Hot Since 82 – Planes & Trains (Dosem remix)
9. Kernel Key – Out of Body Experience
10. Gabriel D’Or & Bordoy – Element 84 (Alex Under remix)
11. Sanys – Dominance
12. Tom Laws – The Yellow Enemy
13. Pherox feat. Lee Curtiss – Black Copy
14. Nicole Moudaber – Movin’ On
15. Mancini (ManJas) – What I Think (Yamen & Eda remix)
16. Basement Jaxx – Mermaid of Salinas (Michel Cleis Isla Dub)
17. Thomas Schumacher – I’ll Do You
18. Dadub – Existence (Kangding Ray remix)

1. Architectural – 04.1
2. Funkndy – Station
3. Regis – Cold Water (Substance Version)
4. The Yellowheads – Red Light District
5. Antigone – The Melody
6. Antigone – The Time Merchant
7. Lewis Fautzi – Binary (Oscar Mulero remix)
8. Dax J – Dreamscape
9. H.O. – Deletion 3
10. Gregor Tresher – Nightcolors (Garnier Without The B Devotions remix)
11. Herva – Snow and Clouds
12. 2 AM/FM – Acid Planes
13. Svreca – Overgang (Oscar Mulero remix)
14. Attemporal – ATT9 (Craig McWhinney remix)
15. Spear – Cognitive Dissonance (Miki Craven remix)
16. Brian Sanhaji – Datalogger (Jonas Kopp remix V1)
17. Sin Sin – Grounded
18. Exploit – UFO